Solar Hall Of Fame For Australia

Australian pioneers of solar power are receiving some well-earned recognition via the new Australian Solar Hall of Fame.
“The inaugural inductees in the Solar Hall of Fame include some of Australia’s greatest scientists, innovators and entrepreneurs and collectively represent an extraordinary contribution to tackling global climate change,”  said John Grimes, Chief Executive of the Australian Solar Council.
Mr. Grimes says Australia has “punched well above its weight” with regard to solar research, development and deployment and last year, Australian households installed more home solar panel systems than any other country in the world.
Some of the inaugural inductees to the Hall of Fame include: 
– Professors Martin Green and Stuart Wenham of the University of New South Wales : solar cell development
– Dr Shi Zhengrong, founder and Executive Chairman of Suntech (dual Australian/Chinese citizen)
– Solar advocates Associate Professor Monica Oliphant and Dr Muriel Watt

Early pioneers of solar research including Emeritus Professor John Ballinger, Professor Bill Charters, Dr Stephen Kaneff, Wal Read and Steve Szokolay have also been recognised.
“Our researchers are equal to any in the world. Our innovators have created multi-billion dollar companies and laid the foundations for big solar globally, and last year Australia installed more residential solar panel systems than any other country in the world.”
“Australian solar has a proud history and a very bright future”, said Mr Grimes. 
The Australian Solar Council (formerly known as AuSES) was established in 1954 and operates as a non-profit dedicated to promoting the use of solar energy in Australia. Organisation members include academics and researchers, the solar industry, and the general public. The Australian Solar Council is an affiliate Section of the International Solar Energy Society (ISES).
The organisation held its 50th annual conference at Swinburne University of Technology, Hawthorn Campus, Melbourne last week.